Organization and Contacts

Organizing Committee

  • Bill Taylor, Conference Chair, Michigan State University (
  • Devin Bartley, Conference Host, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) (
  • Eddie Allison, University of Washington (
  • Beth Beard, American Fisheries Society (
  • Doug Beard, U.S. Geological Survey (
  • David Coates, Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (
  • Steve Cooke, Carleton University (
  • Ian Cowx, University of Hull (
  • Tina Farmer, FAO (
  • Carlos Fuentevilla, FAO (
  • Abigail Lynch, Michigan State University (
  • Nancy Leonard, Northwest Power and Conservation Council (
  • Robin Welcomme, Imperial College Conservation Science Group (

 Advisory Board

  • Robin Abell, consultant
  • Angelo Agostinho, Universidade Estadual de Maringa
  • Jim Anderson, World Bank
  • Angela Arthington, Griffith University
  • Jianbo Chang, Institute of Hydroecology, Ministry of Water Resources and Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Nick Davidson, Ramsar
  • Simon Funge-Smith, FAO
  • Chris Goddard, Great Lakes Fishery Commission
  • Ian Gray, Michigan State University
  • Chu Thai Hoanh, International Water Management Institute
  • Neha Kumar, International Food Policy Research Institute
  • John Kurien, International Collective in Support of Fishworkers
  • Gerd Marmulla, FAO
  • Kristin Meira, Pacific Northwest Waterways Association
  • So Nam, Mekong River Commission
  • Dmitry F. Pavlov, I. D. Papanin Institute of the Biology of Inland Waters, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Rajeev Raghavan, International Union for Conservation of Nature


Theme 1: Biological Status

Chair: Rose Emma Mamaa Entsua-Mensah, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Facilitators: Ian Cowx and Steve Cooke

Theme 2: Investment, Economic, and Social Assessments

Chair: Eddie Allison, University of East Anglia

Facilitator: David Coates

Theme 3: Drivers and Synergies

Chair: Anthony Cox, Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

Facilitators: Doug Beard and Abby Lynch

Theme 4: Policy and Governance

Chair: Devin Bartley, FAO

Facilitators: Bill Taylor and Nancy Leonard

Editorial Committee

  • Chris Goddard, Chair
  • Eddie Allison
  • Devin Bartley
  • Steve Cooke
  • Ian Cowx
  • Robin Welcomme

Communications Committee

  • Beth Beard, AFS
  • Tina Farmer, FAO
  • James Vatter, MSU

Support Opportunities

Please see our Support Opportunities page for information about how to contribute financially to this important event.